Wow.

Holy wow what a day.  It started at 8am, when I got out of bed, but I had already been tossing and turning for an hour anyway.  So, yea not much sleep.  I had two appointments today to see two orthodontists.  I liked one alot, the other one was okay.  Both were better than my current ortho.  In between appointments, I took some “me” time and hung out at VS and then hung out at a really nice Bux until it was time for my next appointment. 

After my second appointment, I was heading home, thinking about whether or not I should go to my current ortho and discuss my issues.  My boyfriend urged me to do so, which I knew was the right thing to do.

It did not go well.

I tried to explain why I was not satisfied with my treatment.  My dentist barely listened to me.  He would interrupt me frequently, which was frustrating me immensely.  To avoid getting caught up in the details, basically, he was telling me that what I thought about my treatment was wrong.  I tried very hard to not tear up, but my throat started getting tight, and I could feel tears welling up in my eyes.  Just what I wanted; to be crying in my dentist’s office.  His wife presented me with how they were going to be properly billing my treatment so that I would start to receive what was owed to me.  I stood up, asked if there was anything for me to sign, she said no, and then I bid them good day.  I really and truly said, “good day to you”.  Because I was starting to cry, and I knew that I would have much rather screamed something rude. 

I strode out of their office, and to my surprise, my boyfriend was right there waiting for me.  He jumped up and saw my teary face, and asked me what happened.  I told him I simply wanted to go home.  I had been out all day, getting ortho consults, and stressing over what was going to happen when I told my current ortho that I no longer wanted treatment there.  He wanted to go in and talk to him, but I begged him not to.  My dentist is an arrogant man, and I didn’t want him to piss off my boyfriend. 

We drive home, and five minutes after I get home, my dentist calls.  I let it go to voicemail.  It is his wife, saying how bad she and him felt about how upset I was leaving.  I called back after crying a bit, because I was so nervous about calling them back.  But, I knew I had to do it.  Once I calmed down, I called back, and stated that I no longer wanted orthodontic treatment there.  She says that she will take care of it.  Then my dentist calls me back, and tries to ask me to give them another chance.  What he doesn’t understand is that I did.  I just never said anything directly.  But I tried to communicate my unhappiness as politely as I could.  I am done.  I felt like I was breaking up with someone.  He thinks that we are going to continue our dental treatment there, and the answer is no.  But, that will be at another time.

What the hell is wrong with this guy?  He cuts me off, tells me that my opinion basically doesn’t matter because I am not a dentist?  If we cannot have a talk, then we are done.  If he had admitted that my ortho treatment was sub par, and said that he would improve, I would have stayed.  But he did nothing of the sort. 

All I am waiting for now is for the rest of my money, and then I am going to another ortho.  Sigh.  What a fucking hassle.

Leave a Reply

