Review of Ms. Betty in Purple by Susan Nichole

The other day, I was very lucky to have won a Susan Nichole  ( http://susannichole.com/ ) vegan handbag!  It was from a weekly Facebook drawing and I have been trying to win for months.  Well, I finally won!  I was able to choose any handbag I wanted.  I chose Ms. Betty in purple.

34329_441427711412_5619378_n

It is difficult for me to find a designer vegan bag company that I love.  I don’t know what it is, but more often than not, the bags look cheap.  It doesn’t matter that they are made of a non leather material… It’s the details.  The quality of the stitching, the heft of the hardware… the quality of the lining… It makes a difference.

My bag arrived quickly.  I was so excited.  It is a California based company, and I love that there is someone out there working hard to put out a quality product that is ethically made.

So, here are my thoughts:

The first thing I noticed is that the studs are only on one side of the bag.  I was not expecting that.  I guess most bags do have one side that is supposed to face out and one side that is supposed to face in, but I definitely think that studs on both sides would have looked better.  Now I will think before I pop the bag on my shoulder, because only one side is studded.

IMG-20121219-00095

Aslo, the studs are plastic.  Not a fan of that, especially when this bag is supposed to sell for $150.00!  I would have preferred metal studs for that amount of money.

IMG-20121219-00100

IMG-20121219-00090

Ms. Betty comes with a crossbody strap which is one of the reasons why I chose her, because that is my favorite way to wear a handbag.  Second favorite is on the shoulder.  Sadly, due to the kisslock closure, I cannot wear it on my shoulder since the kisslock closure digs into my armpit.  This bag is really meant to be a satchel.  I love the look of a satchel, but I hate carrying one.  Go figure.  Thank goodness it has a crossbody strap.

IMG-20121219-00103

I love purple, I have always been a purple fan.  As you can see from the pictures above, the flash really lights up the purple, but it looks more eggplant in real life.  I like that the studs are black instead of silver… I like that she minimized the silver hardware as much as possible… Even the loops for the crossbody strap are neatly hidden so when I don’t want to use the strap I can unclip it and no one would notice.

I opened the bag, and immediately the metal pull tab for the zippered pocket fell off.  I put it back on, but it has fallen off since then and I cannot find it.  Now I won’t be able to zip it shut, and I found that a very cheap detail for the price of this bag.  The other two pockets are great; one is the perfect size for a pair of sunglasses to go in horizontally, and that is a rare thing to see in a bag.  Usually I put my sunglasses in vertically, and it inevitably ends up slipping out.  The other pocket is perfect for my Blackberry, even in its bulky case.

IMG-20121219-00094

Another cool feature on Ms. Betty is that she is expandable!  She has a zip that allows her to be made wider.  It zips from one end to the other, underneath, and it great for when I have to load up my bag.  I didn’t realize it until I was online googling other pics of her bags, but mine also didn’t come with a dustcover.  I wish that it had, I like to store my bags in them and it would have been a nice finishing touch.

The stitching looks good and sturdy, the bag is a lovely original design that I have not seen anywhere else, which makes it awesome.  I love that it is a vegan company with good ethics behind it.  I love supporting small companies.

All in all, I like this bag.  I don’t love it.  The studs only on one side, the plastic studs and plastic kisslock , the metal pull tab falling off and getting lost, the lack of a dustbag… makes me only like it.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

