Things Are Going To Be Tight

I recently sold a few jewelry pieces.  Elated, I purchased my sister’s birthday present, my mum’s birthday present, and I bought myself a couple of things. 

Well, that was dumb. 

I should have held onto the money until I received my tax return. 

You know why?

Because I am getting $177 back from federal, I owe the state $119, and I owe my tax guy $375. 

Of course, I wouldn’t have KNOWN that, unless I was a clairvoyant, but I have learned; I will not put all my monetary eggs in one basket next time tax season returns. 

So now I am trying to figure out what to do.  I am working less than 30 hours a week at my job (I am currently trying to get to the bottom of that issue), I also got a poor review so I didn’t get a raise at my job, and I pretty much didn’t get a tax refund this year. 

I am trying to figure out how to make it all work.  I am trying to fight for more hours at work, I am trying to make a budget that will allow for me to save AND to chip away at my credit card balance. 

I have an oil change coming up.  That is going to cost me.

I am so lucky that the folks at Zuda Yoga Roseville took a shine to me, and now I work as a Karma Yogi.  Thank the gods for that.  In return, I get free unlimited yoga, and discounts on stuff (I am broke as a joke but it is nice to know it is there).  I am thankful that I can pay my bills.  I am thankful that I can buy food and put gas in my car. 

But I am damn close to the edge.  I have to tread that knife edge so very carefully, lest I fall. 

Leave a Reply

