I Am In It To Win It.

Today I woke up at 5am and blearily looked at my phone, just like I always do when I wake up before my body wants to.

I didn’t have to be at work until 8, so you might be wondering why I woke up 2 hours earlier than I needed to…

Well, I went to a 6am yoga class. 

Actually my first 6am yoga class, ever.

My fantabulous yoga studio that is my second home and my third place only holds a certain number of classes a day.  I try to be thrifty and do my best to grab a class before or after work.  That way, I don’t have to make an extra trip that would use up gas that I try very hard to conserve.  You would be amazed by the number of things that I pack in order to make this happen.  It is quite a process, and if I am going to yoga class after work, I am usually prepping the night before. 

1. pack my yoga bag.  I have more than one, depending upon what I am doing that day.  As much as I love my pretty bliss bag by lulu, it is meant to haul alot and sometimes I am just not in the mood.  I pack my mat, a mat towel, my change of clothes (and don’t forget a change of shoes), a bath towel, deodorant, a water bottle, and snacks. 

2. pack my lunchbag.  i need to have an insulated one, because I am trying really hard to stick to my diet and some of my stuff goes from freezer to work and I need to try to capture as much of the chill as I can.

3. pack my purse.  make sure i have my essentials, and something to read.

3 bags.  When I am going to yoga as well as work, it is a 3 bag day.  Ugh!  I do a 3 bag day 3 times out of the 4 that I go to yoga.  I have this schedule that seems to work for me.  I go to yoga Monday through Thursday, and that way I get my “weekend” off.  I still go to the studio 5 days a week, because I work there as a karma yogi on Fridays.  If I didn’t get off of work so darn early on Fridays, I would skip going on my one day off during this 4 day stint and that way I wouldn’t be practically living there.  But I love it.  Everyone is super chill.  After working a frenetic shift at Starbucks, it is nice to relax and not have to worry about job performance.  It is also nice to hit up yoga and then go to work because it chills me out and I am less likely to get stressed by all the negativity at work.  It is pretty effective either way. 

So it worked out today that I either take the 6am class, or wait an hour and a half after work and take a 6pm class. Since I worked a full 8.5 hour shift, I chose to try out going to the 6am class.  It wasn’t great, but I could do it once a week.  I am a morning person, but by morning person I mean I like to get up and sit with a cup of coffee and dodder around on the ol’ internet or read.  Driving to yoga when the sun hadn’t risen yet was slightly disconcerting.  It was only an hour class, but it was a tough one today (thanks Stella! :P).  The class was small and so I didn’t have to rush through my shower, since only one other person needed to shower.  Have you ever tried to shower in 5 minutes?  That includes peeling off your sweaty gross yoga clothes, and then, even though you dry yourself off as well as you can, your skin is still damp, and it is a real bear to try to get dressed.  I am usually all zoned out from class, so that last thing I want to do is rush rush though my shower, but you have to if other people are waiting.  Rules of the yoga road.  So it was real nice to not have to do that.  Then I calmly drove to work, got there early enough to enjoy my protein bar and an americano, and then time to clock in!  

All in all, I was definitely tired.  I went to bed as soon as I could, but cut myself short of a potential hour of sleep.  Getting up and doing a vigorous vinyasa class and then working an 8.5 hour shift at Starbucks is a tiring combo.  Plus, for those in the know, I was on bar for nearly the whole day.  After being on bar for about 6.5 hours, I asked for a different thing to do.  Quite frankly, my back was killing me.  Luckily they switched me as soon as someone else came in and that was such a relief. 

Would I do it again?  Yes.  I have to do this.  I need to exercise and yoga is the only damn thing out there that I have stuck with for a year now, and I am finally seeing some weight loss.  Not only that, but yoga is the only thing that has kept my back pain in check.  Of course, the weight loss is because I upped my regimen to 4 days a week, and I have been closely monitoring my diet… such as slashing the amount of sugar in my diet by ALOT.  But it all works together. 

I am pooped.

 

Leave a Reply

