My charm bracelet obsession

Thanks to Trollbeads, i am totally obsessed with modern charm bracelets.

I have one traditional charm bracelet, from Tiffany’s, and i love it. However, it is terribly cumbersome to wear, and i am seriously considering splitting it because i would like to enjoy all the gorgeous charms instead of looking at it and wearing it infrequently.  i am just trying to decide what should go where.

My Trollbeads collection is quite extensive. I am going to purchase a special jewelry box for my Pandora/ Trollbeads/ Chamilia/ Thomas Sabo beads… At the moment they are jumbled a bit and for the time and money i have put into acquiring my beads, i need to display them better. I am excited about that, because my official jewelry ban date is looming closer and i think appropriate storage and display will help me remember how many beautiful pieces i have.

When i first started my ban, i realized that i had a few jewelry projects unfinished. My Trollbeads collection is good. I don’t need any new ones for quite awhile, at least a year. My Trollbeads X bracelets are also good for at least a year or more. My Pandora stars bracelet is nearly finished… I might need a couple more charms, but i need to have some charm play and see if it can wait a year. I have one other Pandora, but that one has no real definition and can wait a year. My Pandora Essence bracelet can also hold for a year. My Thomas Sabo Karma bracelet needs to be finished up before this ban starts. I also just started a Chamilia bracelet and would like to have that onto a good start before the ban.

I am surprised i picked up on the Chamilia line. I have always loved their glass. I first noticed Chamilia when i was visiting my favorite NJ Trollbeads shop. I really liked their glass. But i noticed that the Chamilia bracelet chain looked exactly like the Pandora chain , so i passed. Last week i was at my local Trollbeads dealer, and she showed me a gorgeous and completely different Chamilia bracelet. I was hooked. So that’s the story with that. 

Not to generalize things, but i put Pandora and Chamilia in one category and Trollbeads and Thomas Sabo Karma in another in terms of style. Pandora and Chamilia can easily become cutesy and childish, whereas Trollbeads and Karma are edgier and more artisan. I have created a very non cutesy Pandora bracelet, and it looks fantastic. I plan on doing the same with Chamilia, though i plan on using more glass. 

Trollbeads is not readily available; the two dealers i buy from are each at least 45 minutes away, so sadly i frequently order online to save on gas and sales tax. They have beautiful quirky heavily oxidised silver charms. Their glass is gorgeous. They also have a beautiful collection of natural faceted gemstones.  You can also swap out the clasps, so Trollbeads are fully customised. 

Pandora is readily available. I work at Pandora, i get an employee discount. Pandora is pretty much everywhere, and thus easy to build my bracelet quickly. Pandora’s glass beads are the least refined. They are uninspired and i only like one; otherwise i won’t buy any of them. Pandora also quickly borders on cutely childish so i only like a very small number of their charms.

Thomas Sabo Karma beads are the new kids on the block. They don’t have glass, but they have some natural gemstones. They have a very dark theme, so as a result i love the majority or their charms. They can be quite pricey. As for durability, i haven’t worn mine long enough to determine that yet, but so far, so good.  Karma is very hard to find, there are no shops in my state so i can only order online.

Chamilia is also hard to find, i know of one place that is close enough to drive to, but it is at least 45 minutes away. their glass is gorgeous. their silver charms can quickly become too childish so i will need to choose carefully, but there are a few that are really cool. 

Time to finish up before the ban.

Leave a Reply

