Keeping Promises

It takes work to undo the habits of being overly negative.  This is a statement that I am all too aware of.  I find myself actively pushing against the negative thought patterns that seep into my brain.  I need to shift my perception of what I consider negative and re-evaluate.  The bottom line is, I don’t like being coached at work.  I hate it.  Especially when it come from someone that I don’t know that well and am not sure of their managerial qualifications.  But it wasn’t coming from a bad place.  I have to remember that the intentions are good.

Though isn’t it said that the road to hell is paved with good intentions?

Distraction is good, it works for awhile, but I should try to remember what distraction is best for; calming down and rethinking my options.  Distraction is not meant to be a fix it all.  Eventually, one must return to the issue at hand that caused them to seek distraction elsewhere.  Otherwise, there is going to be quite a huge, monstrous issue waiting for you whenever you do decide to revisit it.

Today I will engage in mindful distraction.  I will utilize it in order to give my mind a rest from the stress that I have caused it.

For once I will keep a promise to myself.

Leave a Reply

